AS1428 Suite of Standards

The Australian Standard 1428 suite of standards are the main accessibility standards used within the built environment in Australia.

Rialto Towers, 525 Collins Street MelbourneThe standards provide guidance on the requirements for people with disabilities.

There are five parts to the suite, though it is important to note that only Part 1 and Part 4 have been referenced within the BCA, the remaining three parts are considered best practice under the DDA:

  • AS 1428.1-2009
Design for access and mobility – General requirements for access – New building work
  • AS 1428.2-1992
Design for access and mobility – Enhanced and additional requirements – Buildings and facilities
  • AS 1428.3-1992
Design for access and mobility – Requirements for children and adolescents with physical disabilities
  • AS/NZS 1428.4.1:2009
Design for access and mobility – Means to assist the orientation of people with vision impairment – Tactile ground surface indicators
  • AS 1428.5-2010
Design for access and mobility – Communication for people who are deaf or hearing impaired

The objectives of the standards are to provide guidance to industry on the minimum design requirements for new building work to enable access for people with disabilities.

By Lee Wilson, Disability Access / DDA Consultant, Melbourne, Victoria